Sony Courts Mom Bloggers

23 Jun

I think it’s interesting that Sony will be actively reaching out to mom bloggers very soon. According to a recent Media Post article Sony essentially will be shoving PS3s in mom influencers’ hands. Microsoft has been working with mom bloggers for years. And Nintendo’s core consumer is the casual, lifestyle gamer, also known as mom! In fact, I was one of EA Sports Active’s original contestants helping it become the #1 fitness video game of all time, so I know of what I speak.

Seeing the success of the Wii there is no doubt Sony is looking to capitalize on this demographic as well. But first they have to get PS3s into the hands of moms to really test out Move, Sony’s new movement detection technology. If mom bloggers like it, Sony’s Move may become a big hit! If it seems like a Wii knock-off, Sony may not fare too well during the holidays!

My hunch is that mom bloggers will love it. The technology does look promising, but will it convince parents to push their Wii aside? We’ll just have to wait and see.

3 Responses to “Sony Courts Mom Bloggers”

  1. Melanie Burbage June 28, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

    Interesting! Thanks for posting.

  2. Jenn July 15, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    I have worked with Nintendo for ages and they are super family friendly. I have also worked with Microsoft with their XBox 360 and they were so helpful in making sure I knew what I was doing etc. (We are huge gamers in our home.) I have to admit, seeing Sony come to the Moms would be huge! We are all about the games here. We’ve been alpha testers on MMORPG games for years.

    I think it is interesting that Sony (knowing how moms are so influential) would be the last ones on the band wagon here. I am eager to see how they do it and what they do to get the games in the hands of the ones who ultimately make these decisions.

    Very exciting!

    • barb August 6, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

      Wow I wish I could get so lucky as to review some new games from Sony or Nintendo! That would be so awesome! I need tips how to get that to happen as we are a huge gaming family especially the sports games!

Leave a Reply

