Did Social Gaming Kill the Soaps?

13 Jun

There is no doubt about it, the Internet killed the soaps, but I’m not quite so sure social gaming can claim all the credit.

Granted I don’t have studies or stats to back up my theory, but as a mom I know my online habits and those of my fellow friends and acquaintances. I believe a three-pronged approach killed the soaps – social media, blogs, and social gaming.

According to Marketing Pilgrim Jay Samit, CEO of Social Vibe, recently said, “Social games have become the modern “Calgon Moment” for busy women who often feel life spiraling out of control around them. Now she can have the perfect farm or restaurant, a world that’s in order and it’s a very peaceful experience. That’s what killed the soap opera.”

While I believe Samit is right to a certain extent, social gaming is only one reason the soaps failed. You can’t discount how many women are started and growing their own blogs and posting and communicating on social networks. Moms are moving from idly watching media to creating their own online realities – no scripted programming needed. I also have to say that there is more to gamer moms than social gaming. There are some hardcore gamer moms out there. Too bad it’s going to take the industry another five years to figure it out.

3 Responses to “Did Social Gaming Kill the Soaps?”

  1. Jason P. Kaplan June 14, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    Speaking of… and yes, I hate to hijack like this, but I just released an iPhone and iPad game that’s really fun and great with kids, but I’m looking for ways to spread the word since I have no real marketing budget (I’m a new independent developer). Please check out http://www.flewthecoopgame.com/ and get the game if you’re interested!

    • Karen Sarazin July 19, 2011 at 9:49 am #

      Im not sure if thats true? I love online games and my Xbox360 BUT I still watch Days of Our Lives! lol But if I didnt have a DVR I wouldnt watch it. Dont know how I ever lived without one! So nice to not be a slave to my TV!

  2. Brooke Brackett January 30, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

    I think the internet killed them. I am in my mid 20s and am a stay at home mom, my son is fixing to turn 2 and I have never watched them. I think it is more of a generational thing than a soical gaming thing. My gram watches, my mom is more into the prime time thing, and I am into all things internet (Gaming).

Leave a Reply

